Sister Act’s “Mother Superior” Answers Our Questions

sister_table

Direct from Broadway, Sister Act, the divine and hilarious Tony-nominated musical smash hit is coming to Minneapolis May 27-June 1. With an original score by multi-Academy, Grammy and Golden Globe Award-winning composer Alan Menken, Sister Act features all the characters from the popular 1992 movie that starred Whoopi Goldberg and Maggie Smith. We were able to ask “Mother Superior,” played by Hollis Resnik in this tour, five questions.

Here’s what she said:

1. Why should people see Sister Act even if they’ve seen the movie?
It is a joyful piece of theatre for the whole family. Where else will you find dancing and singing nuns, great costumes, a great orchestra and a wonderful ensemble of talented people? At the end everyone is on their feet!

2. Who is Mother Superior?
Mother Superior is stoic, and very dedicated to her nuns in the convent. She is a bit closed minded, but has an excellent wry sense of humor. I love playing this character!

3. How do you feel singing on stage?
I love the two songs I sing in the show–a lovely ballad, “Haven’t Got a Prayer” and a great acting song, “Here Within these Walls.” I think Alan Menken’s score is terrific and very indicative of 1978 when the story takes place.

4. Where did you audition for Sister Act?
I was in Chicago at the time doing Angels in America and couldn’t to fly to New York City, so I put myself on tape and booked the job which was unusual. I did the scenes they sent me and sang both songs. It was easy…no pressure as I wasn’t in front of anyone, only my friend holding the camera!

5. What is the most difficult part about touring in a Broadway show?
This show is very large with lots of moving parts…and we travel every week. It is difficult to live out of two suitcases for over a year. You have to stay vigilant to remain healthy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

16 responses to “Sister Act’s “Mother Superior” Answers Our Questions

  1. Je peux dire que c’estvéritɑƅlement de lla joe de visiter votre site internet

    Like

  2. Јe ѕuis tߋut à fait en accord avec voսs

    Like

  3. Je suis tombé suur votre pօste par chance ƿuis je ne le regrette
    ƿas du tout !

    Like

  4. Je suis ɑrrivée ѕur votre sitfe internet par mégarde :
    je ne le regrette nullement !!!

    Like

  5. Je ѕuis entièгement du même avis que vous

    Like

  6. Encߋre սn poste vraiment instructif

    Like

  7. Excellent web site. Lots of helpful information here.
    I’m sending iit to several friends anns additionally sharing in delicious.
    And obviously, thank you in your effort!

    Like

  8. Une fois de plսs un magnifique post : j’en discuterai après
    avec mes amis

    Like

  9. If you would like to obtain a good deal from this piece of writing then you have to apply these techniques to your won blog.

    Like

  10. Hello! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog article
    or vice-versa? My site discusses a lot of the same topics as
    yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you happen to be interested feel free to send
    me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you!
    Wonderful blog by the way!

    Like

  11. Generally, the loyalty programs will allow you to have your purchased items shipped to your location for free.
    Known for the excellent service they provide to their borrowers, Wonga also takes
    great pains to ensure greater transparency which helps borrowers by providing them complete access
    to useful information. 1 can provide for the needed company while
    on the go and can certainly give you more productivity for your time.

    Like

  12. Very great post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to mention that I have really enjoyed browsing your weblog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing for your rss feed and I am hoping you
    write once more soon!

    Like

  13. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the
    future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I want to suggest you
    few interesting things or advice. Perhaps you could
    write next articles referring to this article. I want to read more things about it!

    Like

  14. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Many thanks, However I am encountering
    troubles with your RSS. I don’t understand why I cannot subscribe to it.
    Is there anybody else getting similar RSS problems?
    Anyone who knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

    Like

  15. Just want to say your article is as surprising. The clarity for your post is simply great and that i could assume
    you’re an expert on this subject. Fine together with your permission let me to grasp your
    RSS feed to stay updated with impending post. Thanks 1,000,
    000 and please carry on the rewarding work.

    Like

Tell us what you think!

